using wifi with proxy



+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    commentator8
    Guest

    Default using wifi with proxy

    As i understand it you can use wifi (got it running at home now), but not if it requires proxy settings (like at university). Is there any way to use wifi with a proxy at all (including with a rooted nook)?

    Thanks

  2. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    keheliya
    Guest

    Default Re: using wifi with proxy

    As mentioned at http://www.barnesandnoble.com/nook/support/index.asp "You can connect to Wi-FiŽ hotspots that do not use proxy security settings" it won't be possible to connect to networks with proxy. It seems Android also, which nook firmware is based on, doesn't have an UI to change proxy settings http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=1273
    So this might be something inherited by that. It'll be great if somebody can come up with a workaround for that

  4. #3
    commentator8
    Guest

    Default Re: using wifi with proxy

    Here's to hoping. I imagine it is possible, just not implemented yet.

  5. #4
    Mad Hatter
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5,905

    Default Re: using wifi with proxy

    keheliya and commentator8: Welcome to NOOKBOARDS!
    Donna

Similar Threads

  1. WiFi
    By vickiec in forum simple touch
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 12:48 AM
  2. Wifi vs 3G + Wifi Help me decide!
    By Nancyml in forum nook Discussions
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 01-12-2011, 01:18 PM
  3. wifi
    By J-Jo in forum nook Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-08-2010, 10:28 AM
  4. Ad-hoc wifi?
    By Sin in forum original nook
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 09:15 PM
  5. Wifi
    By lmcanon in forum nook Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 08:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts