Setting up Wi-fi on ST



+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tiny Tim
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Setting up Wi-fi on ST

    When I first plugged it in to charge, it came up with the set-up screen. I can't get past the wi-fi setup. Our wireless is set up with mac id filter. I can't get into the nook to get the mac id to add to the list... so I can't get past this screen. There has to be a way around this? We don't have free wifi any where near by. Even the closest B&N is 1.5 hours away.

    Anyone know how to get around this?

    Thanks!!!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Tom Sawyer
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: Setting up Wi-fi on ST

    Hope this will help you. It's a post from the B&N boards.

    How to find MAC Address on initial setup.

  4. #3
    Tiny Tim
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Setting up Wi-fi on ST

    Thank You!! I didn't even realize there was a forum on their site. I did google it, trying to find a way around it before I came here. But it worked. Thanks Again!!!

  5. #4
    Puck
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    266

    Default Re: Setting up Wi-fi on ST

    Yeah, would have been nice for B&N to have included that simple info in the "Quick Start Guide" since so many people's home WiFi have MAC filtering set up.

    (For myself I ended up grabbing an unprotected, open WiFi signal from a neighbor to get through the STN set-up, then found the MAC address for the STN and added it to my WiFi node so the STN could connect. Those without any open WiFi nodes nearby, though, definitely need to know how to find the MAC address before starting set-up.)

    This instruction needs to be stickied at the top of one of those new Simple Touch Nook forums here...
    Nook Classic 3g and Simple Touch
    Admin: http://ScionLife.com/forums

  6. #5
    Puck
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    266

    Default Re: Setting up Wi-fi on ST

    Set-Up when a MAC address is needed:

    When you turn your N2E on for the first time (or when you "de-register" your STN) you will see a "WELCOME" screen.

    Don't click [Next] yet!

    While you are still on that screen, HOLD DOWN the right bottom page turn button and tap Next while holding down the lower right page turn button.

    A [Device Info] icon will appear in the upper left corner.

    Tap Device Info and you will be able to get your MAC Address before going through setup and trying to connect to WiFi.

    This ONLY works on that initial "WELCOME" screen.
    Nook Classic 3g and Simple Touch
    Admin: http://ScionLife.com/forums

  7. #6
    Oliver
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Re: Setting up Wi-fi on ST

    In order to deregister my NOOK is asking for me to connect to my wireless. I cannot connect to my wireless because the NOOK will not accept my MAC network. I have tried a hard reboot...pushing down the power button and the lower page turners at the same time. It turns on but does not deregister. What should I do?

Similar Threads

  1. Setting up ymail on the nook color
    By FritzStein in forum nook color/tablet
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-13-2012, 11:34 AM
  2. Setting up Nook as gift
    By jubean in forum nook Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-18-2011, 03:31 PM
  3. Received replacement nook - ? on setting up new one
    By joybo in forum original nook
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 10:45 PM
  4. setting the correct time
    By janewendy in forum original nook
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2010, 07:17 PM
  5. Manually setting time and date
    By Thomas in forum original nook
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 02:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts