Things look grim for B&N

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Mr. Darcy

Default Things look grim for B&N

I just read this article on the front page of Yahoo: http://finance.yahoo.com/career-work/article/110381/clearance-sale-barnes-noble-didnt-evolve-enough?mod=career-leadership

I'm worried about what this means for the nook. Any thoughts?

2. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements

Mowgli

Default Re: Things look grim for B&N

Even if they do go under you can always buy ebooks from elsewhere, thats the good thing about the Nook. More then likely someone will buy them (or at least the name) and fix them up.

What this means for people who purchased ebooks from them who knows? You can't put them on just any ereader after all.

Mowgli

I'm new to the ebook realm but I thought the advantage of the B&N ebooks was their epub format, that allowed them to be read on other hardware. I am soooo confused. I think I'm going back to paper.
    Mr. Bill

Currently reading:

The Old Testament
    John MacArthur's guide to the Book of Hebrews (Bible stuff)
    Tess Gerritsen's - Rizzoli and Isles series

5. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements

Tom Sawyer

There's a few other threads on here about this subject with more thoughts on the subject, but I think we'll be fine.

Mad Hatter

There have been a number of threads on this very topic.

We (Nook owners) can buy from a variety of sources (and use other formats beside EPUB (which does show up the best)) and we have libraries that we can borrow eBooks from.

I don't envision all eBook retailers going away any time soon.

Donna

Benjamin Button

I don't care about B&N's problems. I just want them to either release Nook 2 or drop the price of Nook 1 to something reasonable for its dated technology. Black Friday may hold some nice surprises for us. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Tom Sawyer

Quote Originally Posted by tubemonkey