Questionable quality of books converted to E-book

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mr. Darcy

Default Questionable quality of books converted to E-book

I'm pretty new to the nook. About 2 months in, I've bought and read about 7 books. Some of them are new to me and some of them are ones I've owned/read before. All of them have horrible spelling and spacing errors make me CRAZY! I don't know about the ones I haven't read before but the ones I have, I know that these errors weren't in the original DTB. Has anyone else noticed this or am I actually going crazy. Is it that hard to copy a book over to E-book formats? I can understand some spacing errors but I would think the spelling should already be done in a computer file. What do you guys think?

2. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements

Super Moderator

Default Re: Questionable quality of books converted to E-book

It depends on where you get your books sometimes, and the spacing errors and bad formatting usually are PDFs, EPUBS generally are the optimum formatting for nooks. Even though PDFs are fully supported, they just don't come out as nice on the nook screen.

I haven't noticed a lot of spelling errors in the books I've read. Only occasionally there have been a couple books that have "???" in the middle of a sentence or something, completely out of place, but since it only happened a couple times in the book, it didn't bother me too much and I was able to ignore it.

If you are buying books that are really hard to read, with horrible formatting and text errors, maybe you should ask for a refund.