Hello fellow readers, from an author from South Florida

Tom Sawyer

Default Hello fellow readers, from an author from South Florida

I just wanted to stop in here and introduce myself, to say "hello" and hopefully start to get to know some people here. I'm an avid reader who was recently surprised (shocked is really the word) by a good friend last month when he bought me a Kindle for my birthday. Now, I realize these are the Nook boards ... and I am a fan of eBooks and eBook readers in general. I welcome the surge in eBook popularity and am glad to see people reading on any device they enjoy. New, innovative products that bring more people into the e-reader fold can only help us all in the long run, no matter which e-reader we use.

As an author, I am more than happy for people to enjoy my work in paper, on a Nook, a Kindle, their computer, hieroglyphics, or any other format they may desire. The only thing I WOULD like to see is more standardization on formats so that people can enjoy their eBooks on any device they own. (Of course, it's looking more and more like Amazon is the odd man out here by not supporting ePub.)

Anyway, a little about me ... I grew up in South Florida, but spent several years living in Gainesville, FL, as well as Berkeley and Los Angeles, CA. I went to college at the University of Florida, and on Saturdays you can find me watching Gator football. I went to law school and practiced law for several years (please don't hold it against me -- I hated it!), but recently "retired" and have been writing. I have written two novels, which I talk about in the thread here. And I'm a huge fan of Apple computers, but I don't really see the iPad as an e-reader at all.

Thanks for listening, and I hope to chat with you all soon!
    David Derrico, author of Right Ascension, Declination, & The Twiller
    Available at B&N & Smashwords
    http://www.davidderrico.com

2. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements