Huckleberry Finn to be reissued with offensive words removed...

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Puck

Default Huckleberry Finn to be reissued with offensive words removed...

NPR's link to this story

http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/...ffensive-words

I always thought that Huckleberry Finn was Twain's social commentary of that period, removing the use of the 'N' word removes the social issues/lessions the book teaches us.

Frankly, as a writer myself the thought of having to remove a word because it might offend is pure madness, after all were would it end? All books would be neutral gray masses of no conflict, no thought provoking lines and chance to tell a truth through words. This sort of self-censorship was wrong, and I would like to think that Mark Twain would have something witty to say about it too... Such as 'Don't let schooling get in the way of your education."

What are you thoughts on this?
    Arigato,
    Nick D
    The Tether Saga - Dark Fantasy on the Streets Of Baltimore (Learn More Here)
    The Wonder Tales - All Ages Fantasy Adventure (Learn More Here)
    A Teddy Bear Tale - Tristan the Teddy Bear protecting his child from the Monsters under the bed (Learn More Here)
    Learn more about Nick Davis at alt-world.com

2. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements

STH
    Oliver

Default Re: Huckleberry Finn to be reissued with offensive words removed...

I am against censorship in just about any from I can think of. Bureaucratizing art is as dangerous as it is absurd. So, in my opinion, the idea of removing the "n" word from Huck Finn and changing it to something else is a foolish one. It's also misguided. Because, presumably it is being done out of respect, but altering the context and santizing the history is disrespectful to everybody.

That said, there is a practical matter in play here too.