How do I re-format PDF articles for the Nook?

Tiny Tim

Default How do I re-format PDF articles for the Nook?

Just got my nook and I'm loving it so far for ebooks from B&N and from the library. But I'm a grad student and I also want to use the nook to read pdfs of journal articles and things. My nook seems to do just fine with Adobe PDF ebooks (from the library) but when I try to use it to read my own pdfs of articles it tries to show both columns of text at once and makes it really really tiny. (Basically it just tries to show the whole pdf image on its little 6 inch screen, which makes it unreadable). How do I go about reformatting the pdfs so that the nook will read them correctly? Is there a way to reflow the pdf to fit the smaller screen? Or should I be converting the pdfs to OCR, and if so how do I do that? I tried using Calibre to convert the pdfs to epubs, but that didn't really make any difference.

2. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements

Puck

Default Re: How do I re-format PDF articles for the Nook?

If the PDF Files don't have DRM (Copy Protection), you can convert them to EPUB using Calibre, which is a free program (www.calibre.com). EPUB tends to format better in the nook than PDFs.
    Paul...
    Proud owner of a rare and exclusive autographed copy of the soon to be classic novel: Boomerang, by Alan Hutcheson!

Now reading:
    Man of Steel, by Dave Conifer
    The Murder of King Tut, by James Patterson

Tiny Tim

I've tried converting them to epub in Calibre, but that made almost no difference in how they displayed on the nook. Maybe that's because these are scanned pdfs rather than pdfs that are already in a reflow or OCR format? Any suggestions on how to convert them into a format that the nook can actually reflow rather than just showing them as an image?

5. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements

Puck