Would someone explain all the different "roots" that are now available

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Oliver

Default Would someone explain all the different "roots" that are now available

I am new to Nook Color and the android market in general - - I know little to nothing about apps. However, in researching what ereader to purchase, everyone recommends the NC and then rooting it to make it even more useful. I have read the "how to root" websites but am still confused.

Does rooting with the "autonooter" leave the B&N OS intact but lets you also download other apps? If so, what happens when B&N sends out its auto update this month? Would the auto update override the root?

If a person roots to the Android Froyo or Honeycomb, does that OS override the B&N OS? People are selling on ebay NC that rooted to Froyo and claim that OS has been completely changed. Is this true? To those that have done rooted to the level, are you still able to download magazines from B&N?

If a person is truly a novice, do you recommend that the person buy a NC already rooted? I can follow directions, but have no technical skills or knowledge.

Thank you.

2. Remove Advertisements
    B&N Nook Forum
    Advertisements

Mowgli

Default Re: Would someone explain all the different "roots" that are now available

Quote Originally Posted by lisainnewcastle
    I am new to Nook Color and the android market in general - - I know little to nothing about apps. However, in researching what ereader to purchase, everyone recommends the NC and then rooting it to make it even more useful. I have read the "how to root" websites but am still confused.
    Even unrooted the nook is pretty useful if you only only need a reader.

Does rooting with the "autonooter" leave the B&N OS intact but lets you also download other apps? If so, what happens when B&N sends out its auto update this month? Would the auto update override the root?